Costas N. Georghiades 
Delbert A. Whitaker Chair Professor of ECE
Senior Associate Vice President for Research, Texas A&M University

 CV |Courses
Students | E-mail

Costas N.  Georghiades received the B.E. degree with distinction from the American University of Beirut in June 1980, and the M.S. and D.Sc. degrees from Washington University in St. Louis in May 1983 and May 1985, respectively, all in Electrical Engineering. Since September 1985 he has been with the Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE) department at Texas A&M University, where he holds the Delbert A. Whitaker Endowed Chair. He served as ECE Department Head from 2005 to 2012, as Associate Dean for Research in the College of Engineering from 2012-2016 and as Associate Agency Director for the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) from 2013-2016. He is currently serving as Senior Associate Vice President for Research at Texas A&M. His general research interests are in the application of information, communication and estimation theories to the study of communication systems and in particular wireless and optical communication systems.

Dr. Georghiades is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). He served in editorial positions for several journals, including the IEEE Transactions on Communications, the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications and the IEEE Communications Letters where for the latter he also served as Editor-in-Chief. He has been involved in organizing a number of conferences, including as Technical Program Chair for the 1997 IEEE Communication Theory Mini Conference, the 1999 IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference and the 2001 Communication Theory Workshop, and as General Co-Chair of the 2004 Information Theory Workshop and the 2010 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory. In other service, he served as Chair of the Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC), Chair of the IEEE Information Theory Society’s Fellows Committee, Chair of the IEEE Wireless Communication Letters Steering Committee and as a member of the IEEE Hamming Medal Committee.

Dr. Georghiades was the recipient of the 1995 Texas A&M University College of Engineering Halliburton Professorship and in 2002 the E.D. Brockett Professorship. From 1997 to 2002 he was the J.W. Runyon Jr. Endowed Professor and in 2002 he became the inaugural recipient of the Delbert A. Whitaker Endowed Chair. In 2012 he received the IEEE Communication Society’s Communication Theory Technical Committee Service Award and in 2021 the Texas A&M College of Engineering Excellence Award for Service.